Let’s discuss 5 day meal prep for newbies (like me!)

I feel that fashion and a healthy lifestyle should go hand in hand because you cannot look your absolute best in the latest and greatest trends when you don’t eat right and exercise. So fyi you will continue to see health and fitness posts throughout this blog. Many jobs do NOT promote healthy eating. October was tough month health wise for me. There was candy everywhere I looked. McDonald’s is located right across the street. Vending machines are so convenient when there is just no time! The temptation to indulge in a bunch of crap is all around you. So what should you do about it? Whatever works for you. Hopefully this blog post will be helpful to someone else who is having trouble having a consistent healthy lifestyle that doesn’t include eating junk every single day. What works for me right now is planning some delicious, healthier meals from breakfast to snacking to dinner. Originally i was only planning meals for just 2-3 days. Since that hasn’t been very effective I am now planning meals for 5 days straight. After I completed my grocery run I went back and saved the meals in my phone. So I now have a list of every meal available for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks. Think about it this way: the junk food is the easiest to access. Candy bars and fast food can be obtained instantly due to vending machines located everywhere in the workplace and franchises on every corner in the city. If you plan your meals out and spend more time preparing your meals, you are getting the proper nutrients and calorie intake that will benefit you in the long run. Women’s Health Magazine has a sample meal plan on their website that looks like this:

Your Best Body Meal Plan: Week 1

Monday

Breakfast
3 Scrambled Eggs
1 large grapefruit
Snack
25 almonds
Lunch
Turkey Wrap
1 apple
Snack
1 piece of string cheese
Dinner
Spicy Chicken and Pasta
Side salad and 2 Tbsp olive oil/vinegar dressing

Tuesday

Breakfast
2 Tbsp of peanut butter with 1 piece of toast
1 banana
Snack
2 small boxes of raisins
Lunch
Leftover Spicy Chicken and Pasta
Snack
0% fat Greek yogurt
Dinner
Miso Salmon
2 cups of broccoli

Here is the link to view the rest of the meal plan on their site:

http://www.womenshealthmag.com/fitness/six-week-weight-loss-meal-plan-week-1

For breakfast this week I cut up two large potatoes and seasoned them to make crunchy potatoes.

Crunchy potatoes fresh out of the oven ready to be placed in containers
Crunchy potatoes fresh out of the oven ready to be placed in containers

I also can bake hash browns that I purchase from Trader Joes (they are delicious, only 130 calories and less greasy than a McDonalds hash brown) and have them ready to microwave in the early work mornings.

Trader Joes Hashbrowns
Trader Joes Hashbrowns

To go with the potatoes and the hash browns I will either scramble eggs the night before or boil eggs in the morning while I am taking a shower. I also have whole wheat bagels that I can easily throw into a toaster for 5minutes.

I am a huge snacker so my pantry stays full of all kinds of snacks that I can throw into sandwich bags and pack them in my lunch bag. Pics below.

The granola bar always saves the day for breakfast keeping you full and content until lunchtime (sometimes lol)
The granola bar always saves the day for breakfast keeping you full and content until lunchtime (sometimes lol)
One of my favorite workday snacks
One of my favorite workday snacks
Almonds are also a good "fight the cravings" snack
Almonds are also a good “fight the cravings” snack
I sampled these at Trader Joes and they taste great
I sampled these at Trader Joes and they taste great
You can't go wrong with fresh veggies and balsamic vinegar or low fat ranch
You can’t go wrong with fresh veggies and balsamic vinegar or low fat ranch

One last meal prep food I would definitely suggest is salads. If you are simple with your salad like I am, it will only take you minutes to throw together salads in containers. If you like a lot more veggies and cheeses in your salad then you may want to allot more time to chop them all up for the week and store.

Caesar salad prep: lettuce and cut up provolone cheese. All I have to do is add light seasoning and a bottle of dressing during the week
Caesar salad prep: lettuce and cut up provolone cheese. All I have to do is add light seasoning and a bottle of dressing during the week

Dinner will honestly vary because there are endless options. You can cook anything the night before from beef to seafood and pair it up with veggies, whole wheat pasta, or brown rice. The choice is yours.

For dinner this week I made baked bbq porkchops, yams, and cabbage. Yummy!
For dinner this week I made baked bbq pork chops, yams, and cabbage. Yummy!

There is an app (apple and droid) as well available for smartphones called Food on the Table. I just started using it and so far so good. It starts out asking for the grocery stores that you shop at in your area (trader joe’s was not in the list Boo lol), then it asks what types of food you like to eat. Then it will have a list of what’s on sale at that grocery store based on what you like to eat. Then from there you can add those items to your grocery list. It is really detailed and helpful and I recommend to anyone who is getting started to use the app. I hope this content was helpful to some if not all. Please comment below your best practices and suggestions or if you have any detailed questions please email cieranichollebags@gmail.com

16 thoughts on “Let’s discuss 5 day meal prep for newbies (like me!)

  1. kareldekar.com

    This is very fascinating, You’re an excessively skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and stay up for in search of more of your excellent post.
    Additionally, I have shared your site in my social networks

  2. l1nk.net

    I think this is among the most vital info for me. And i am
    glad reading your article. But should remark on some general things, The web
    site style is ideal, the articles is really great :
    D. Good job, cheers

  3. Maira

    Can I just say what a relief to discover somebody
    that really knows what they are talking about on the net.
    You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important.

    More people ought to look at this and understand this
    side of your story. I was surprised that you aren’t more popular given that you
    certainly have the gift.

  4. sopa para emagrecer

    We’re a bunch of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community.
    Your website provided us with helpful info to work on. You’ve performed a formidable task
    and our whole neighborhood can be grateful to you.

  5. junk mail

    My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different website
    and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you.

    Look forward to checking out your web page repeatedly.

  6. junk mail

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a
    bit, but other than that, this is excellent blog.
    An excellent read. I will definitely be back.

Leave a Reply

