Beauty Post: Ipsy Glam Bag March 2014

What in the world is Ipsy?

Ipsy is a beauty membership created by YouTube makeup sensation Michelle Phan.  If you haven’t watched any of Michelle’s YouTube videos please do! She does amazing makeup tutorials on her channel. The beauty membership is only $10 monthly and it’s automatically drafted from your card every month. Then they ship out a cute cosmetic bag every month with five full sized samples in it.  I have been a member for over 6 months now and because I have been enjoying and saving a lot of money with it I decided to do a post on this month’s beauty bag.

 March 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag

This is the cosmetic bag for March. Not my favorite color combo but I have received some really cute designs before and these always come in handy.
This is the cosmetic bag for March. Not my favorite color combo but I have received some really cute designs before and these always come in handy.

Baremineral Marvelous Moxie lip gloss in Rebel

Marvelous Moxie in Rebel Bare Minerals
Marvelous Moxie in Rebel
Bare Minerals

I love receiving lip gloss in my Ipsy bag every month because I am a huge lip gloss and lipstick junkie. I own two separate cosmetic bags full of lip products and I probably don’t use half of them because I’m so cliquey (is this a word because I use it pretty often lol) with lip products. I pull out one or two then stick with it for a few months until I get bored. The only thing I will say about this product is it’s very sticky so although it’s pretty good when it comes to shine and long wear, I don’t like sticky gloss.  This product is $18 at Sephora so I have already made well over my money back with the membership receiving this product alone.

 Be a Bombshell Bora Bora eye shadow quad

Love this color combo! Bora Bora eye shadow quad
Love this color combo!
Bora Bora eye shadow quad

image (6)

This eye shadow is pretty awesome. I love all of the colors and I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to create some colorful spring looks. My favorite color in the quad is the teal blue because it will be pretty popular with my makeup looks in the summer.  I haven’t tried it yet so I can’t talk about how long it stays on. I have only swatched it to see how the colors look and so far so good. This eye shadow quad is $16 on the Be a Bombshell site.

Chella indigo blue eyeliner

Chella indigo blue eyeliner
Chella indigo blue eyeliner
Chella indigo blue eyeliner
Chella indigo blue eyeliner

This eyeliner is my absolute favorite in the beauty bag. I ran it across my hand just to test it when I first got it and it definitely stays on. I couldn’t even rub it off my hand I had to scrub hard while washing my hands. I cannot wait to use this on a smokey eye look. I want to place this over my waterline and use a blue eye shadow to go with it.  This eyeliner is $24 on chella.com.

Klorane smoothing and relaxing patches

Klorane eye patches
Klorane eye patches

I have to be honest I had no clue what this was so I had to research it. These patches are for your eyes to get rid of signs of fatigue and refresh and relax your skin. Would I use them? Probably not I might give them away. I don’t really have issues with tired looking eyes just dry skin.  This product has cornflower in it, which is good for smoothing out the skin.  This product is $19.25 on amazon.com for 7 pockets and 2 patches.

So let’s do the math. I received five products that cost $77.25 and the membership only cost me $10. That sounds like a winner to me. Ipsy does a great job of keeping me out of Sephora as much as possible while sending some quality beauty products every month in a cute little beauty bag. If you are interested in this membership you can check out their website and sign up at www.ipsy.com. When you sign up for the membership they ask you to fill out a quiz to help select your product choices. Someone asked me about the choices I selected on the quiz to produce the bag I received so I decided to post most of the questions and my answers below. Hope this helps.

Ipsy Quiz Q & A

Which of these looks best describe your own personal style?

Hip/edgy, club-goer, and sultry

Which of these tipsy stylists could you relate the most to?

Jessica and Kandee. I loooove Kandee Johnson’s youtube videos! Check her out.

How comfortable are you with makeup?

Very Comfortable

How adventurous are you when it comes to trying new beauty brands, products and shades?

Very Adventurous

Which of these beauty brands do you love (or would love to try)?

I pretty much selected all of them except cover girl, kiehls, juice beauty, philosophy, the balm, and bare essentials.

Which of these types of makeup products do you love the most?

I selected everything except powder (only liquid products for me mainly), foundation ( I only use MUFE), and primer & bb cream.

How would you describe your skin tone?

Deep

How would you describe your skin concerns?

Dryness and dehydration

What color are your eyes?

Brown

How would you describe your hair?

Dry & damaged

I hope you enjoyed reading about this beauty membership, please don’t forget to subscribe and comment below!

Instagram

xoCieraNichollexo

7 thoughts on “Beauty Post: Ipsy Glam Bag March 2014

  1. Jasmine

    What were some of the choices you chose with the quiz to produce such a bag? I would have loved from my bag to look similar. Any tips?

    • CieraNicholle

      That is actually a great question Jasmine! I am going to post some of my quiz answers in the blog post in case any one else is wondering how to get a similar bag. Thanks for the question!

  2. umbsiuvtk@gmail.com

    Wow that was odd. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyway, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

Leave a Reply

