My New Work Bag: Pros & Cons

During the post Black Friday sales I purchased the last H&M bag in this model on clearance for only $20 (a steal for a large handbag in my opinion). I was in need of a bag that was strictly for “9-5” purposes where I can store my badge and other daily work essentials that are only used during the week.

FullSizeRender (2)

Now let’s talk first about what I love about this bag. The design is exactly what I’m looking for. The texture is different and not easy to damage as I have thrown this bag around like a rag doll a couple times.

FullSizeRender (4)

The size is perfect. I can fit my whole life in here. My lunch bag even fits inside but I still carry the two separately so it doesn’t mess up the shape of my work bag.

FullSizeRender (3)

Now to the cons. I have a tough time keeping this bag organized.  As you can see in the photo, there are two open sections and that’s pretty much it. I didn’t really think through before purchasing how important it is to have another zipper pocket and more side pockets for small items (lipgloss, lotion etc). I have two small pockets on the side where I put my iPhone headphones and charger. Then I have the small zipper compartment that you see in just about every purse you get. That’s where I put my badge. Everything else is just thrown into the bag. So at work I’m pretty much digging around looking for stuff.

FullSizeRender (1)

Now I am faced with the dilemma of whether I should spend more money on a well organized work bag or should I work with it and just get a zipper pouch (or two)?
So after doing a little research I did see a couple bags I would like to purchase:

Double zipper satchel

hmdoublezippersatchel
H&M, $39.99

 

So of course a week after I purchased this bag, I found this when I went back in h&m. I am in love with the two large zipper compartments on each side. To me it is a way to have organization without sacrificing style.

 

ralphlaurensatchelfront
Lauren Ralph Lauren Newbury Double Zip Satchel, $298 (it’s priced lower most places)

The very first time I saw the double zipper satchel bag was when I came across this beauty.

ralphlaurendoublsatchel

Judging by the inside, it looks like it will give me what I am looking for. There are the two zipper compartments, another pocket on one side and the small zipper compartment on the other side. That way I would be able to put smaller items like my lipgloss or tissues pouch inside of the zipper compartment and the larger items like my ipad in the middle or the other zipper compartment if I choose.

I haven’t decided yet which direction to go in. For now I’m just working with what I got. At least now I know what I want in a work bag. Thanks for reading!

Comment, like, share, subscribe!

Leave a Reply

