Home Decor Haul: Items under $5

Hey guys!! I moved into my new place three weeks ago and I have been researching and trying to figure out what will help me achieve the ultimate pinterest and tumblr worthy apartment.

Two weeks ago I went on a hunt to find inexpensive home decor items that would look great in my living room. While I was out doing my saturday morning bike ride, I found three different signs that pointed to a garage sale. I didn’t bring my wallet so I had to keep pedaling but by the time I got home, I knew it was a sign that I needed to go back out there and check it out.

I ended up buying three items from two out of the three garage sales I stopped at:

image4 (1)
Picture Frames .25cents each

I knew that I was going to need a lot of picture frames because I am doing a gallery wall in my living room and I wanted to cover the majority of that wall. So I got super excited at the first garage sale when I stumbled upon eight unopened picture frames! Each frame was only 25 cents each!

image1 (3)
Ikea Tranby Mirror $4

This is the Ikea Tranby mirror (they don’t sell it anymore) which I also found at the garage sale for only $4. And in mint condition might I add!! I couldn’t wait to hang this on my wall above my sofa!

image2 (2)
Antique porcelain $3

At the last garage sale I stopped at I found this vintage beauty. I decided to purchase this because it would good right beside my bed on a nightstand. Not to mention there was plenty of space inside to put my rings, earrings, and a few other knick knacks.

Since I seemed to be having a good shopping afternoon so far, I decided to continue on and check out two thrift stores. The first one was a store called Metrocrest Resale. I purchased one item there:

FullSizeRender (5)
Small glass dish, $2.50

I was looking for a cute little glass dish that I can put my keys in when I walk through the door. I noticed that Metrocrest had a lot of similar ones and after narrowing them down I decided to get this one. Normally in a retail store you can expect to pay around $9.99 and up for something like this brand new. I paid only $2.50. Now I can cross that item off my list.

Last, I headed over to Goodwill to see what they had:

 

image3 (1)
Sapphire Vase, $4

I purchased this vase because it fit my color scheme in the living room (sapphire, grey, and light blush pink) and I would be able to put some beautiful white roses in it and put it on the dining room table. To be honest, I felt like I could get it cheaper than $4 if I really tried (they sell a vase for $1 at Dollar Tree) but because of the color I purchased it anyway.

image1 (2)
Ceramic dish .99cents

This didn’t have a price on it at Goodwill so I was actually shocked when the sales associate told me this was only .99 cents! I wanted to sit it on top of my cube organizer and put my workout essentials in it: phone armband, earbuds, and keycard.

I had a really great time driving around town and finding home decor items that were all under $10 each and I can’t wait to do it again! I will also do a high end home decor haul as well (probably next month). I think great home decor involves both low and high end pieces. I still need to check out Home Goods, West Elm, Crate & Barrel, and Restoration Hardware so expect to see more of my hauls soon!

Thank you for reading! 

2 thoughts on “Home Decor Haul: Items under $5

Leave a Reply

